Skip to main content

Who is eligible for Special Education

Who Is Eligible?                                                                                                                                                     To receive special education services, students with disabilities must be at least three years old but under twenty-two years old. Hearing impaired and visually impaired students may receive these services from birth and as long as they have not reached they twenty-second birthday by September 1 of the year of enrollment.  

In order for a child to qualify for special education services, they must be found to have one of the 13 categories of special education and it must adversely affect their educational performance. 

  • Autism  

  • Blindness  

  • Deafness  

  • Emotional Disturbance  

  • Hearing Impairment  

  • Intellectually Challenged 

  • Multiple Disabilities 

  • Orthopedic Impairment  

  • Other Health Impaired  

  • Specific Learning Disability  

  • Speech or Language Impairment  

  • Traumatic Brain Injury   

  • Visual Impairment                                                                                                                                        

Students who are eligible for special education and related services are provided these services as determined by the Admission, Review and Dismissal (ARD) Committee and detailed in the Individual Education Plan (IEP).